My monthly book review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And other concerns)

Gutten Morgen everybody!!! Today is my last chance to share with you the book I read this month: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And other concerns) by Mindy Kaling. Mindy is a comedian, actress, writer and producer, I can’t tell you how much I love her work. She plays Dr. Mindy Lahiri in the sitcom “The Mindy Project”, one of my favorite shows right now. She also worked at “The Office”, where she wrote, produced, directed and portrayed Kelly Kapoor, the customer service chatterbox, obsessed with pop culture, getting married and having babies. If you’re familiar with her work you know I’m not exaggerating when I say she is one of the best the business.

is everyone hanging out without me?

As soon as I found out Mindy had written a memoir I knew I had to read it. After last month’s romantic book, The Best of Me, I needed something funny and light. The book describes her life from childhood to adulthood, with lots of funny references and anecdotes in-between. Her writing is so fresh and honest, I felt I was chatting with my best friend the whole time I was reading it, maybe it’s because I dream of being BF’s with Mindy (girl crush alert).

I thought it would be nice to share some quotes from her book just so you get an idea of what to expect from it, I promise they are not spoilers:

*Warning: do not read the following quotes or the book while drinking liquids; you may end up spitting them from laughing so hard (personal experience)

“You should know I disagree with a lot of traditional advice. For instance, they say the best revenge is living well. I say it’s acid in the face—who will love them now?”

“It wasn’t even one of those stoic pimples that goes quietly when you pop it; this one was cystic and painful and had roots that seemed to extend into my brain.”…“So, with my zit throbbing like a nightclub, I went to the interview.”

“We clung to each other with blind loyalty, like Lord Voldemort and his snake, Nagini. I, of course, was Nagini. If you messed with one of us, you knew you messed with both of us, and Voldemort was going to cast a murder spell on you, or Nagini was going to chomp on your jugular.”

I loved this book as much as I love Nutella, and that is as serious as it gets. It’s important to read something light and funny every once in a while, it’s ok if you want to read “The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire” for leisure, but give yourself a break to have a laugh, your endorphins will thank you.

I hope you read this book, I absolutely recommend it!! Today my husband and I are going back to the gym and I’m mentally preparing for it (I’m not ready). Have a nice day my friends!!

3 thoughts on “My monthly book review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And other concerns)

Leave a Reply

