Santa Claus is coming to town!!!

I’m so excited about Christmas!! Who isn’t? I know this could be an overwhelming week between cooking and shopping for last minute presents, but forget about that and give yourself a moment to enjoy the most wonderful time of the year!!! (I’ve been watching Ellen, she’s the best!!)

image

I’ve been living under a rock!! Last week I started using Pinterest (shame on me) and I want to kill myself for not starting before. I’m obsessed with it, there are so many ideas and I wanted to share with you the ones that I liked the most:

Best everyday tip: Everybody needs to know how to jump start a car, especially at this time of the year when snow and low temperatures can make your battery die. I had no idea there was a specific way to connect the cables and if you don’t follow them, your battery could explode. Not cool.

image

http://pinterest.com/pin/475622410622501978/?s=3&m=wordpress

Best decorating tip: I love crafting!! I don’t do it as often as I’d like but I really admire people that come up with ideas like this:

image

http://pinterest.com/pin/475622410622450316/?s=3&m=wordpress

Best winter outfit: I’m still not used to winter, so finding outfits that will keep me warm and make me look cute is a challenge. This outfit is definitely my style.

image

http://pinterest.com/pin/475622410622501959/?s=3&m=wordpress

Those are a few of my favorite pins, to see more you can follow me on Pinterest, not sure how, but this is my username: SweetSaltyThoughts, if you can’t find me let me know and please share your wisdom with a Pinterest newbie like me.

I’ve been wanting to share this Sugar Cookie recipe for a while, and what better time than Christmas. These cookies are perfect! The recipe will make 24 medium cookies or 12 big ones, our perfect size.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Ingredients
1-1/3 cups and 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup butter and 2 tablespoons
3/4 cup white sugar, plus more for rolling
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (190 degrees C).

In a bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, and baking powder.

In a different bowl, cream the butter. Then add the sugar and mix until smooth. Beat in an egg and vanilla.

At this point I like to switch my mixer for a wooden spoon. Pour half of your dry ingredients into the butter mixture and blend slowly, then add the other half and be careful of over stirring.

If you don’t have a dough scoop like me, use your ice cream scoop to roll dough into balls, then toss them in a bowl of sugar until well covered and place onto cookie sheets lined with parchment paper.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes, or until edges are golden. I’ve learned that baking is a little about intuition, so make sure to use yours, it takes some practice but you’ll get there.

After you’ve taken cookies out of the oven let them rest two minutes to cool down.

image

I put some chocolate chips in a couple of cookies because I was in the mood for some chocolate (ok I’m always in the mood for chocolate).

I hope you enjoy these cookies!!

One thought on “Santa Claus is coming to town!!!

  1. Pingback: My crazy hormones | sweetsaltythoughts

Leave a Reply

